Minutes Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education

Special Session

September 1, 2020

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education met in special session on Tuesday, September 1st, 2020, central administration offices, 621 Gracey Avenue, Clarksville, TN. The meeting was called to order at 6:34 p.m. Board members present were: Chair Margaret Pace, Carol Berry, Jimmie Garland, Herbert Nelson, Charlie Patterson and Kent Griffy. Also present were: Millard House, Director of Schools; Mark Nolan, Board Attorney; Dr. Angela Huff, Chief of Staff; Dr. Sean Impeartrice, Chief Academic Officer; Jeanine Johnson, Chief Human Resource Officer; Carol Joiner, General Council; David Holman, Chief Technology Officer; Jim Sumrell, Chief Operations Officer; Marcia Demorest, Chief Financial Officer; Anthony Johnson, Chief Communications Officer and LaTonya Long, Board Secretary, who recorded minutes of the meeting.

Board Discussion and Vote

Margaret Pace, Board Chair called the meeting to order at 6:34 pm. The purpose of this meeting was to have discussion related to the Resolution Funding for Architect Fees for CMCSS Middle School number 8 and to vote on said resolution. The first read was held at the regularly scheduled board study session on September 1, 2020. The resolution states, student enrollment combined at all CMCSS middle schools is at a capacity level of 104% and there is extensive use of portable classrooms (119) in use across the district. The resolution was brought before the board as the timeline necessary to insure completion of the prototypical middle school construction project for a successful fall 2022 opening, requires the employment of an architect through the bidding phase. On a motion by Mr. Garland to approve the resolution as stated and seconded by Mr. Patterson, the motion passed 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Margaret Gace

Margaret Pace Board Chair

mit z. Kal

Millard House Director of Schools

LaTonya Long Board Secretary