Minutes Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education

May 23, 2017

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education met in Special Session on Tuesday, May 23, 2017, in the Board Room, central administration offices, 621 Gracey Avenue, Clarksville, TN. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. Members present were: Anne Murtha, Board Chair; George Giles, Josh Baggett, Margaret Pace, Charlie Patterson, Jimmie Garland, and Willie Freeman. Also present were: Katy Olita, Board Attorney; Danny Grant, Chief Financial Officer; Elise Shelton, Chief Communications Officer; Jeanine Johnson, Chief Human Resources Officer; David Holman, Chief Technology Officer; and Deb Cummings, Secretary, who kept the minutes of the meeting.

Board Discussion and Consideration

Selection of Director of Schools

Board Attorney Katy Olita asked for a motion to discuss each of the four candidates for the Director of Schools position. A motion was made by Mr. Baggett and seconded by Mr. Patterson. The Board discussed the candidates in the order in which they were interviewed. After Board discussion was complete, Ms. Olita closed the discussion and explained how the voting process would proceed pursuant to policy GP-11. That policy calls for nominations to be given and requires no second for any nomination. Ms. Olita stated the vote would be by ballot and that each Board member would put their name and vote on their ballot and pass those to her. Ms. Olita said that she would read each ballot aloud and that a candidate must receive at least four votes to be selected. If no candidate receives four votes on the first round, there will be a re-vote. If there are more than two candidates, it will be narrowed to the top two candidates for the re-vote. If no candidate then receives four votes, there will be a call for another re-vote. If after three votes it appears no selection is possible, the floor would be re-opened for nominations.

Ms. Olita opened the floor for nominations for the Director of Schools. Mr. Giles nominated Dr. Bryan Johnson, Ms. Murtha nominated Mr. Millard House, and Mr. Josh Baggett nominated Dr. Kathleen Howe. Board members were asked to cast their voting ballots. After tabulation, Ms. Olita read the votes as follows: three votes were cast for Dr. Bryan Johnson by Mr. Giles, Mr. Garland and Mr. Freeman; three votes were cast for Mr. Millard House by Ms. Murtha, Ms. Pace and Mr. Patterson; and one vote for Dr. Howe by Mr. Baggett. Based on policy, a second round of voting was conducted with Board members voting only for Dr. Johnson or Mr. House. The candidate receiving four votes will be selected as the new Director of Schools for Montgomery County. After the second round of voting, Ms. Olita read the results as follows: three votes were cast for Dr. Johnson by Mr. Giles, Mr. Garland and Mr. Freeman and four votes were cast for Mr. House by Ms. Pace, Ms. Murtha, Mr. Baggett and Mr. Patterson. Mr. House was selected as the candidate that would be offered the position as Director of Schools. Ms. Olita asked the Board for any additional motions or other considerations as it relates to the

Minutes, Board of Education, May 23, 2017 - Page 2

selection of Mr. House. Mr. Giles made a motion to give authority to Board Chair Murtha and Mr. Baggett to work with Ms. Olita to negotiate a contract with Mr. House which would be brought back to the Board for approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Patterson and carried 7-0.

Ms. Olita asked for any other motions or discussion. Ms. Pace made a request for a second vote, for a unanimous vote, for support of the new director of schools. The motion was seconded by Ms. Murtha. The vote resulted in 5-2 with Mr. Garland and Mr. Freeman opposing. Ms. Olita stated the motion passed although the original votes technically will still be reflected in the record as they were cast but that motion does pass. Mr. Giles called for point of order and stated he did not believe a unanimous vote could pass without the unanimous vote being unanimous. Ms. Olita agreed and confirmed the votes will remain as they were originally cast.

Chair Murtha adjourned the meeting at 6:05 p.m.

Anne Murtha

ann Murtha

Board Chair

Deb Cummings Board Secretary

Deb Cummings

B J. Worthington
Director of Schools

By Worthington