Minutes Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education

Special Session May 4, 2017

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education met in Special Session on Thursday, May 4, 2017, in the District Room, central administration offices, 621 Gracey Avenue, Clarksville, TN. The meeting was called to order immediately after a public notice whereby interviews for the Director of Schools were conducted by the Board. Members present were: Anne Murtha, Board Chair; George Giles, Josh Baggett, Jimmie Garland, Willie Freeman, and Margaret Pace. Charlie Patterson joined the meeting via conference call facilitated by Ms. Olita. Also present: Katie Olita, Board Attorney; Elise Shelton, Chief Communications Officer; David Holman, Chief Technology Officer and Deb Cummings, Secretary, who kept the minutes of the meeting.

Board Discussion and Vote

Chair Anne Murtha called the Special Session meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Board Attorney Katie Olita explained the purpose of tonight's special session is to discuss the sole item on the agenda which is to narrow the candidate list from the 7 previously interviewed on May 3 and May 4, 2017 for the Director of Schools position. Each Board member was provided a list of the candidates and Ms. Olita asked the Board to select (by circling their names) the candidates each requested to bring back for in-person interview. Chair Anne Murtha made a motion that the session be opened for general discussion before deciding on the selection of candidates. The motion was seconded by Ms. Pace. Motion carried 7-0.

After discussion by the Board, a motion was made by Mr. Giles and seconded by Mr. Baggett to have 4 candidates return for in-person interviews. The motion passed 5-2. Those candidates are: Dr. Bryan Johnson, Dr. Aimee Wyatt, Mr. Millard House, Dr. Kathleen Howe.

Meeting adjourned at 8:08 p.m.

Anne Murtha Board Chair B. J. Worthington Director of Schools

Deb Cummings Board Secretary