Minutes Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education

Special Session March 7, 2017

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education met in Special Session on Tuesday, March 7, 2017, in the District Room, central administration offices, 621 Gracey Avenue, Clarksville, TN. The meeting was called to order immediately after the regularly scheduled Study Session. Members present were: Anne Murtha, Board Chair; George Giles, Josh Baggett, Jimmie Garland, Willie Freeman, Margaret Pace, and Charlie Patterson. Also present were: Dr. B. J. Worthington, Director of Schools; Katie Olita, Board Attorney; Elise Shelton, Chief Communications Officer; Jim Sumrell, Chief Operations Officer; Jeanine Johnson, Chief Human Resources Officer; David Holman, Chief Technology Officer; Dr. Bryan Johnson, Chief Academic Officer, and Deb Cummings, Secretary, who kept the minutes of the meeting.

Board Discussion and Potential Action

New Director Search Further Discussion (first reading, March 7, 2017)

Vice Chair Jimmy Garland called the Special Session meeting to order. Board Attorney Katie Olita opened the floor for a motion to explore further discussion relating to the search for the new director of school. Mr. Josh Baggett made the motion for further discussion and Mr. Jimmie Garland seconded that motion. The motion passed 7 - 0.

Ms. Olita stated that since the director's position had posted with Board approval (January 3, 2017) through Mr. Randy Bennett (TSBA) there is concern with the small amount of interest to date. With the current low level of interest, this presents limitations in terms of locating the "right fit" for our schools and finding a potential director familiar with policy governance which the Board feels would be a great advantage.

It was decided to continue with the search efforts of Mr. Randy Bennett (TSBA) in addition to retaining the services of Mr. Jim Huge, Atlantic Research Partners, to provide supplemental search services. Ms. Olita said that she would contact Mr. Huge.

By Woithington

B. J. Worthington

anne Murtha

Anne Murtha Board Chair

Director of Schools

Deb Cummings

Deb Cummings Board Secretary