Minutes Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education

Special Session August 18, 2009

The Clarksville-Montgomery County Board of Education met in Special Session on Tuesday, August 18, 2009, in the Board Room, 621 Gracey Avenue. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. Members present were: George Giles, Chairman; Eula Gardner Dowdy, Horace Murphy, Jr., James Mann, and Carol Smithson. Also present were: Michael Harris, Director of Schools; Jill Nolan, Board Attorney; B. J. Worthington, Chief Academic Officer; Danny Grant, Chief Financial Officer; Elise Shelton, Chief Communications Officer; Jim Sumrell, Chief Operations Officer; Bruce Jobe, Chief Human Resources Officer; and Teresa Rawls, Secretary, who kept the minutes of the meeting. The following members of the County Commission School Liaison Committee were present: John Genis and Keith Politi.

Board Discussion and Consideration

<u>Application for Qualified School Construction Bonds for Montgomery Central High</u> School Renovation

Mr. Harris thanked staff members for their hard work in preparing this application. Mr. Harris noted that there is a \$20 million dollar limit on this project and we are seeking the maximum amount. Chief Operations Officer Jim Sumrell presented an Executive Summary detailing the contents of the Qualified School Construction Bond Program application. He commented that the application had been prepared jointly with the County Mayor's staff. The application requests \$20 million dollars in interest free bond sales. Mr. Sumrell explained how this project aligns with the criteria of the Qualified School Construction Bond program. He stated the submission deadline is Friday, August 21, 2009, at 4:30 p.m.

Mr. Mann made a motion to waive first reading. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion which carried 5-0. Mr. Mann then made a motion to authorize the Director of Schools and the Board Chair to sign and submit the application and to approve the minutes of the meeting in order to submit them as part of the required documents with the application. Mr. Murphy seconded this motion. The motion carried 5-0.

There being no further items on the agenda, the meeting adjourned at 6:12 p.m.

George Giles Board Chair

Gune Sila

Michael T. Harris Director of Schools

Michael T Harris

Teresa A. Rawls Board Secretary